Beyoncé’s Debut GQ Cover: Inside the Spread & Interview Sneak Peak!

tumblr_mgdmhp97xy1ry0gfbo1_500

This cover pretty much leaves you speechless, in such a way only Beyoncé can.

The cover is sexy, but not quite slutty. Revealing, but not trashy. Despite only wearing a cut-up football jersey and skimpy red underwear, the Single Ladies superstar looks every inch the classy sex symbol (if there ever was such a thing).

The striking cover – shot by Terry Richardson – is intended to declare Beyoncé as the sexiest woman of the 21st century, but to pop culture obsessors, R&B fans and critics alike it simply declares one thing: King B is back.

GQ Magazine have now released some more photos from Mrs Carter’s spread and a flavour of her exclusive interview, her first of the year. In the interview, she speaks in true, candid Beyoncé fashion about her work ethic, how motherhood has changed her, married life and what the year ahead holds for her. Read more to check it out…

Beyoncé spent the majority of 2012 laying low after becoming a mother to her first child, daughter of her and husband Jay-Z, Blue Ivy Carter. However, the term “laying low” can only go so far in Beyoncé’s mind as the Crazy In Love songstress seen the break as a chance to get back in the studio to create her follow-up to her #1 2011 release 4.

Now, as she prepares her global chart domination once again this year, GQ’s “Sexiest Woman of the Past 13 years” is featured in men’s magazine GQ for an exclusive interview and spread – her first of many to come this year.

“I worked so hard during my childhood to meet this goal: By the time I was 30 years old, I could do what I want,” she says. “I’ve reached that. I feel very fortunate to be in that position. But I’ve sacrificed a lot of things, and I’ve worked harder than probably anyone I know, at least in the music industry. So I just have to remind myself that I deserve it.”

As she puts the finishing touches to her top-secret fifth solo album, Beyoncé is also in full rehearsal mode as she prepares for performing the half-time show at the Superbowl XLVII on February 3.

“One of the reasons I connect to the Super Bowl is that I approach my shows like an athlete,” she says now. “You know how they sit down and watch whoever they’re going to play and study themselves? That’s how I treat this. I watch my performances, and I wish I could just enjoy them, but I see the light that was late. I see, ‘Oh God, that hair did not work.’ Or ‘I should never do that again.’ I try to perfect myself. I want to grow, and I’m always eager for new information.”

Just two weeks after her Superbowl spectacle, the multi-talented powerhouse will premiere her directorial debut in an HBO documentary taking fans into her private life with the intimate footage backdating to early 2011, beginning when the singer parted ways with her father, professionally. The documentary will also showcase the return of Beyoncé’s alter-ego Sasha Fierce with exclusive footage of her four-show pit-stop at The Revel, performed last April just 3 mere months after she gave birth.

“I now know that, yes, I am powerful,” she says. “I’m more powerful than my mind can even digest and understand.”

Beyoncé’s fifth solo effort is currently untitled, but is expected as early as April. Rumours are currently swirling about her chosen lead single(s); with chinese whispers of a Justin Timberlake collaboration, a Miguel collaboration and even a quartet pop supertrack accompanied by Azealia Banks, Lady GaGa and Rihanna. These rumours are yet to be confirmed. But we’ll have it first at FameuxKills – so stay tuned!

Her GQ issue is available on January 15.

[Beyoncé quotes from GQ.com, read the cover story here.]

Leave a Reply

